A month in Cabrera

We rented the first floor of this house in Cabrera for a month
We rented the first floor of this house in Cabrera for a month

I was so happy to arrive in Cabrera. Not only because I was able to escape Sto Dgo for a while, but because we were going to see if maybe this was the place where we would make ourselves a home. Thanks to the other expats of Cabrera, we were able to rent the first floor of a house not too far from the park (the park is the little square where you get on and off the bus). It was only 8000 pesos a month and had a big bed, stove, fridge, sofa and a table with a set of chairs. That was about it, but it was all we needed.

Finally in the Caribbean! View from Hotel La Catalina
Finally in the Caribbean! View from Hotel La Catalina
Out walking by "el malecón" in Cabrera
Out walking by “el malecón” in Cabrera

I loved walking around the little town looking at all the cute little houses with their beautiful gardens. For the first 4 days I said that this was where I wanted to live. I finally felt at peace. At night I would sit in the small galeria and feel the ocean breeze, I could hear crickets close by and the wind rustling in the leaves. I could finally feel in my whole body that I was in the Caribbean.

Lovely garden in Cabrera
Lovely garden in Cabrera

I would take Little A on walks to the small, fenced, playground where we always played by ourselves. It was too hot to be outside really, but Little A never liked being indoors much. I would walk him in the stroller for him to fall asleep, and then I would go to Choripan (a dinerlike restaurant that does not serve choripan) and have coffee. When he woke up we would have lunch, and lots of jugo de chinola! If I said Little A as the one drinking all the chinola juice I would be lying, it was so yummy. We would go to D’Sara, the greengrocer’s, and buy lots and lots of delicous veggies and all the mangoes and chinolas we could get our hands on. Some evenings we went to Chico’s, that was a lovely restaurant run by Abe Ochoa, a Cuban American expat (who later sold that restaurant). We always had pizza and sometimes a margarita. Then we would let Little A fall asleep in the stroller while walking by the tiny malecon.

 

The playground in Cabrera
The playground in Cabrera

If you are thinking about Cabrera as a place for you and you have children, you have both a  school (English only) and a little preschool (bilingual) that made us seriously think about moving there for the sake of Little As education. I never found a preschool in Sto Dgo where we felt comfortable sending Little A (but I do believe that if we had gotten to know more families there we probably would), but we didnt hesitate when it came to Cabrera.

If you are suited to living more of a small town – and I do mean very small – Cabrera is a very cute place to live in. But after 4 days I started to feel bored. It was a great escape and I enjoyed it so much when we were there. We even came back for a week in December when my husband‘s family visited for Christmas.  But I felt it was much too small for us.

Margaritas at Chico’s
Margaritas at Chico’s
Leave a Reply

